30
Nov
09

Break in the Action

As I watched the reconstructed episodes of The Crusade and looked forward to the large number of missing episodes in the near future, I found myself discouraged. It’s kind of painful to watch them and difficult to stay motivated. How much Dr. Who can a person watch? Especially when it’s just audio over 5 or 6 repeated still images…

In short, I started to realize the enormity of this task. And I knew there would be times when I really didn’t want to continue. But, dammit, I’m committed. If I can’t complete a mission to watch 30 years of a television show, what can I do? I am still really looking forward to the rest of the show. This portion of it is just particularly difficult to plow through.

With that in mind, I am taking a short Dr. Who hiatus. I will get back to the action in a couple of weeks after the semester has ended, my brain is rested, and the TARDIS no longer feels like huge weight I’ve tied to my own ankle.

2 Responses to “Break in the Action”


  1. 1 Jules
    6.December.09 at 9:59 am

    Jacob1480,

    I’m not sure I mentioned this earlier – but I really admire your endeavour to watch it in chronological order; it is inevitable that there will be periods that your patience will be tested and this will not be the first time; if you get to season 20 onwards, you will be scratching your head then (probably on a constant basis).

    If you really get to the point where you feel you cannot continue, then I’d advise checking out one of the stories from season 15 (the Golden Age); see the level of promise in store and return to the chronology if possible.

    I’d love to comment more – but I am afraid of unintentionally spoiling and I have not seen that many Hartnell stories. Certainly from season 6 onwards, I’ll have more freedom to comment.

    But what I will say is this: there are a few really good stories coming up in the following seasons; I have already mentioned Time Meddler; Mind Robber, The Invasion and The War Games are all great, but I think they’re around seasons 5/6. Unfortunatly, many of the stories from season 4-5 have been lost – so it’s hard to know how good they were.

    In any case, love your recaps and keep up the good work!

    • 2 jacob1480
      6.December.09 at 12:56 pm

      Jules,

      Thanks for the encouragement! I believe the Time Meddler is coming soon, it’s one I’m looking forward to. I’ll keep in mind checking out a later story now and then, but I’m pretty determined to go in order. I don’t even watch commercials for the current version on BBC America. Ha! Thanks for the comments, it’s good to know someone is reading.

      Jacob


Leave a Reply

About These Adventures

This blog exists to document my trip through over 30 seasons of the British science fiction television show Dr. Who. Prior to beginning, I had never seen a single episode of Dr. Who and will be learning the show's mythology and experiencing it all for the first time. I began sometime in July of 2009. Hopefully it doesn't take me over 30 years to reach the end.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Archive Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

