27
Aug
09

An Unearthly Undertaking

I, perhaps somewhat foolishly, have decided to embark upon a science fiction adventure that I would imagine only a relative few have attempted before and even fewer have completed. I’m not sure that I will be able to complete it. Nonetheless, I plan to watch every episode of the BBC classic Dr. Who from creepy beginning (1963) right through the current incarnation (2009). Although it will no longer be 2009 when I finish, and there is no guarantee that the current incarnation will still be current. The show began on November 23, 1963 and ran continuously through 1989, for a total of 26 seasons, plus a few specials and TV movies here and there. Then it reappeared in the current decade, presumably as a continuation of the original series. I have no idea how many episodes this is, but it’s a lot.

Perhaps unique to my particular version of this undertaking is the fact that before starting on my journey I had never watched a single episode of Dr. Who. In fact, I was only vaguely aware of its existence. I’m not British, after all, and PBS was never my favorite channel. But a couple of years ago I became involved in an ill-fated Alternate Reality Game known as the Wyoming Incident. The game involved what was supposed to be a television signal hijacking. Research the hijacking of television signals,  learned the only real one that ever occurred happened in Chicago in 1987 during an episode of Dr. Who. I then learned that Dr. Who was a corny, low budget British sci-fi show and dismissed it.

Then, while watching the BBC more recently, I saw an ad for the new version. Wondering if it was an update to the old series, I did some research and learned that it was a continuation of a series that began in the sixties. Intrigued by the show’s ability to remain popular and/or relevant for over 40 years, I decided I wanted to see what it was all about. I hit up Netflix and the Wikipedia and discovered this page and instantly became overwhelmed, especially by the missing serials. So, I thought I’d watch an old serial or two (the show is divided into 4-7 episode serial stories). And they were awesome. And, so, my quest began.

Because of some odd disc numbering choices for the first three serials, I watched “The Daleks” first, followed by “An Unearthly Child,” the actual opening serial. I was hooked and went in search of the others…some are available on DVD via Netflix, some will have to be downloaded from a torrent. Yes, you can download a single torrent including all 26 seasons. It’s 200 GB.

I have already watched most of Season 1, but was inspired by these guys to document my adventure. What separates me from them is I have never before seen any of these episodes, nor am I able to compare them to future Dr. Who. I will be experiencing and learning about the show’s mythology and quirks and delights as I go along. It should be quite entertaining, I hope others will join me.

2 Responses to “An Unearthly Undertaking”


  1. 1 Andrew Hickey
    10.June.10 at 6:06 am

    This is a great idea, and a great blog! I’ve recently started something similar on my blog, but I’ve seen most of the series several times already. You’re in for some treats here…

  2. 2 jacob1480
    10.June.10 at 10:33 am

    Andrew,

    Thanks for reading and thanks for the comment. I’ve had fun watching the show so far and I hear that it continues to get better.

    Jacob


Leave a Reply

About These Adventures

This blog exists to document my trip through over 30 seasons of the British science fiction television show Dr. Who. Prior to beginning, I had never seen a single episode of Dr. Who and will be learning the show's mythology and experiencing it all for the first time. I began sometime in July of 2009. Hopefully it doesn't take me over 30 years to reach the end.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Archive Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

